Pedro M. P. Gois


Pedro M. P. Gois studied chemistry at the New University of Lisbon from where he also received in 2005 his PhD in organic chemistry under the supervision of Prof. Carlos Afonso. From May 2005 to May 2008 he worked as a postdoctoral research fellow at the University of Sussex with Prof. F. Geoffrey N. Cloke FRS, at the University College of London with Prof. Stephen Caddick and at the Instituto Superior Técnico (Technical University of Lisbon) with Prof. Carlos Afonso. In May 2008, he joined the Pharmacy Faculty of the Lisbon University (FFUL) as an assistant research fellow of the medicinal chemistry group (iMed.UL – Research Institute for Medicines) and in July 2013, Gois was appointed Principal Investigator at the same institution and head of the Bioorganic group. In 2017 he received his habilitation in Pharmacy and was appointed assistant professor of the Pharmacy Faculty. Currently, he holds the position of associate professor with habilitation at FFUL and leads the Chemical Biology laboratory at iMed.UL.

Awards and distinctions

2023 – Scientific Award in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering – University of Lisbon/Caixa Bank
2023 – Secretary General (Adjunct) – Sociedade Portuguesa de Química
2022 – Pioneering Investigator – Chemical Communications of RSC
2022 – Therapeutic Chemistry Division of SPQ (future-president)
2022 – Farmoaward (FFUL best professor – Students choice)
2021 – Farmoaward (FFUL best professor – Students choice)
2019 – Executive commission of the Research Institute for Medicines (iMed.ULisboa)
2016 – Vice-president of the Organic Chemistry Division of SPQ
2014 – Emerging Investigator by Chemical Communications of RSC
2013 – Portuguese Young Organic Chemist Award – Sociedade Portuguesa de Química
2012 – 2012 FCT Investigator – Development grant
2012 – Vicente Seabra Medal – Portuguese Chemical Society (best chemist under 40)
2012 – European Journal of Organic Chemistry plenary lecture at the 6SPJ
2009 – Portuguese representative at the Young Investigator Workshop – EuChems
2008 – Honorable Mention – UTL Young Researcher Award – UTL/Deloitte
2008/9 – National representative at the EYCN of EuCheMs
2008/10 – Co-founder and co-president of SPQ Portuguese young Chemist Group
2004 – FCT Post-Doc scholarship – SFRH/BPD/18624/2004
2001 – School merit award – Faculdade Nova de Lisboa da UNL;
2000 – FCT PhD scholarship – SFRH/BD/3097/2000